From the Land of Shadows

Couverture du livre « From the Land of Shadows » de James Clive aux éditions Pan Macmillan
  • Nombre de pages : (non disponible)
  • Collection : (non disponible)
  • Genre : (non disponible)
  • Thème : Non attribué
  • Prix littéraire(s) : (non disponible)
Résumé:

'These literary-critical essays are compact with wit and penetration but also have a kind of freshness about them, as if the author has never got over his first rapture of enjoyment at the sheer thisness of poetry and prose. James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Desmond MacCarthy,... Voir plus

'These literary-critical essays are compact with wit and penetration but also have a kind of freshness about them, as if the author has never got over his first rapture of enjoyment at the sheer thisness of poetry and prose. James is in the tradition of Hazlitt, Bagehot, and Desmond MacCarthy, with a gusto worthy to succeed theirs and a philosophy well set out in his own introduction. 'Literature', he writes, 'says most things itself, when it is allowed to.' Criticism like this expands that allowance and adds to its pleasure' John Bayley, Observer 'His outstanding talent is as a cicerone, guiding the ignorant traveller with patience, knowledge and wit round some favourite literary edifice and communicating his own admiration of it to the goggling and fascinated visitor . . . the lasting impression is of our critic's truly amazing breadth of reference' Times Literary Supplement 'Mr James is hungry for - and not unworthy of - engagement with important issues. A collection of dignity and coherence . . . tellingly timely' Sunday Times

Donner votre avis

Donnez votre avis sur ce livre

Pour donner votre avis vous devez vous identifier, ou vous inscrire si vous n'avez pas encore de compte.

Où trouver ce livre en librairie ?

Service proposé en partenariat avec Place des Libraires

Suggestions de lecture

Discussions autour de ce livre

Il n'y a pas encore de discussion sur ce livre

Soyez le premier à en lancer une !

Forum

Afficher plus de discussions