Outrun the Moon

Couverture du livre « Outrun the Moon » de Stacey Lee aux éditions Penguin Young Readers Group
  • Nombre de pages : (-)
  • Collection : (-)
  • Genre : (-)
  • Thème : Non attribué
  • Prix littéraire(s) : (-)
Résumé:

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown,... Voir plus

From the author of the critically acclaimed Under a Painted Sky, an unforgettable story of determination set against a backdrop of devastating tragedy. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. San Francisco, 1906: Fifteen-year-old Mercy Wong is determined to break from the poverty in Chinatown, and an education at St. Clare’s School for Girls is her best hope. Although St. Clare’s is off-limits to all but the wealthiest white girls, Mercy gains admittance through a mix of cunning and a little bribery, only to discover that getting in was the easiest part. Not to be undone by a bunch of spoiled heiresses, Mercy stands strong--until disaster strikes. On April 18, an historic earthquake rocks San Francisco, destroying Mercy’s home and school. With martial law in effect, she is forced to wait with her classmates for their families in a temporary park encampment. Mercy can't sit by while they wait for the Army to bring help. Fires might rage, and the city may be in shambles, yet Mercy still has the 'bossy' cheeks that mark her as someone who gets things done. But what can one teenaged girl do to heal so many suffering in her broken city? Breakout author Stacey Lee masterfully crafts another remarkable novel set against a unique historical backdrop. Strong-willed Mercy Wong leads a cast of diverse characters in this extraordinary tale of survival.

Donner votre avis

Donnez votre avis sur ce livre

Pour donner votre avis vous devez vous identifier, ou vous inscrire si vous n'avez pas encore de compte.

Où trouver ce livre en librairie ?

Service proposé en partenariat avec Place des Libraires

Suggestions de lecture

Discussions autour de ce livre

Il n'y a pas encore de discussion sur ce livre

Soyez le premier à en lancer une !

Forum

Afficher plus de discussions