An Episode In The Life Of A Landscape Painter

Couverture du livre « An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter » de Cesar Aira aux éditions Penguin Books Ltd Digital

0 note

  • Nombre de page : (non disponible)
  • Collection : (non disponible)
  • Genre : Non attribué
Résumé:

Cesar Aira's An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter captures a moment in the life of the German artist Johann Moritz Rugendas.

Greatly admired as a master landscape painter, he was advised by Alexander von Humboldt to record the spectacular landscapes of Chile, Argentina and Mexico.... Lire la suite

Cesar Aira's An Episode in the Life of a Landscape Painter captures a moment in the life of the German artist Johann Moritz Rugendas.

Greatly admired as a master landscape painter, he was advised by Alexander von Humboldt to record the spectacular landscapes of Chile, Argentina and Mexico. Rugendas did in fact become one of the best nineteenth-century European painters to venture into Latin America. However, this is not a biography of Rugendas, but rather a work of fiction which weaves an almost surreal history around Rugendas' trips to Argentina where he strived to achieve in art the 'physiognomic totality' of Humboldt's scientific vision of the whole. A brief and dramatic visit to the pampas gives him the chance to fulfill his ambition but a strange episode that he cannot avoid absorbing savagely into his own body interrupts the trip and irreversibly marks him for life . . .

Praise for Cesar Aira:

'Once you've started reading Aira, you don't want to stop' Roberto Bolaïo 'Aira is firmly in the tradition of Jorge Luis Borges and W. G. Sebald' Los Angeles Times Cesar Aira was born in Coronel Pringles, Argentina, in 1949, and has lived in Buenos Aires since 1967. One of the most prolific writers in Argentina, Aira has published more than seventy books.

Donner mon avis

Les derniers avis

Ce livre n'a pas encore d'avis. Donnez le vôtre et partagez-le avec la communauté de lecteurs.com

Où trouver ce livre en librairie ?

Service proposé en partenariat avec Place des Libraires

Les dernières discussions

Il n'y a pas encore de discussion sur ce livre
Soyez le premier à en lancer une !

Lancez une discussion

Pour lancer une discussion, vous devez être connecté...
Vous n'avez pas encore de compte ? Rendez-vous ici et laissez-vous guider !

Du même auteur

La preuve Cesar Aira CHRISTIAN BOURGOIS

Voir tous les livres de Cesar Aira

Autres éditions

An Episode In The Life Of A Landscape Painter Cesar Aira ADULT PBS

Voir toutes les éditions

Récemment sur lecteurs.com